Cozy sweatshirt dress

It’s been ages since I have posted anything on my blog. I have made of course many garments but have not been motivated to take pictures and post…..My co-worker was kind enough to take some pics at lunch so at the least these ones are not blurry.

IMG_4226

A sewist on Instagram posted a picture of an aubergine Renfrew top she made into a dress in organic French terry and I fell in love with it right away. I just had to have one. This was my first time sewing with French terry and it was fantastic to work with and serged like a dream. Cozy-comfortable factor is high!  Though sweatshirt dresses are usually not that flattering, I really could care less when I am wearing it because it just feels so nice.

IMG_4225

I’ve had the Sewaholic pattern for ages but shied away from using it out of sheer laziness. Because these patterns are drafted for B-cup pear shapes it required a lot of grading to fit my measurements. Grading is easy but it just seamed like a lot of work for a t-shirt. I started with size 6 shoulders and sleeves, then to a size 10 bust, to a size 6 waste, and size 2 hips. Size 2 hips! Ha! That’s funny. I used McCalls 6886 knit dress pattern from the hips down and added a cuff to the hem. The terry is sewn with the loop side in for the whole dress except for the cowl which is loop side out for a bit of textured contrast.  It’s a nice effect but hard to see in pictures.

The sleeves were VERY long and I think I cut off 4 inches of length. If you know nothing about sewing and pattern sizing my measurements on this pattern give the image of an inverted triangle with T-rex arms. 

IMG_4222

Despite the potato sackish shape I really, really love this dress and have already gotten a lot of wear out of it. All I have to do is pick either brown or black tights and a pair earrings to go with it and…Boom! Outfit complete.

IMG_4223

Size 2 hips? That ain’t no size 2 booty!!! Thanks for making me feel skinny (ish) Sewaholic.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Cozy sweatshirt dress

  1. Love this and it does indeed look super comfy. I’m totally with you on disliking a lack of shape, but disregarding this for the sake of comfort and ease of dressing. It’s the Coco Dress I can’t resist, despite it being not terribly flattering around my middle section…

Leave a Reply

