Tai Dress

I recently made the Tai Dress from Skinny Bitch Curvy Chick patterns. I was introduced to this pattern by Kathy from theNerdySeamstress. Her version is adorable, and this is really a great pattern. The dress is a princess seam bodice with back darts and a pleated skirt.  It uses little fabric and can be made with many different types of fabric. This dress can be worn as a work dress with flats and a cardigan or jacked, or heels/wedges for a night out.  Plus, I really enjoyed sewing it. IMG_3412

I was unsure whether I would need to do an FBA, and after reading Kathy’s review and emailing with Betsy, the company owner, I decided not to for the first try. I think with a heavier weight fabric with no stretch a small FBA (1/4 inch) would be ideal. I cut the size small and made it out of a stretch cotton in a light and spring-ish print. The alterations I made were: taking in the princess seam close to the armhole and took in the side seams by about an inch from the bust down to the waist seam. I also did a hand ticked lapped zipper instead of the recommended zip. The neck gapes a bit which I took care of with the next version.

IMG_3404[1]

I opted not to line the skirt, but this pattern comes with separate lining pieces! I am going to use the lining in many other skirts and dresses, it is so useful. The pattern finishes the neckline and armholes with bias binding which is surprisingly new to me. I love the finish, so much so that I used bias binding on the hem.

IMG_3409

I am very impressed with this pattern company and surprised other bloggers have not tried this pattern. Everyone should!

3 thoughts on “Tai Dress

  1. This is such a pretty dress! I love, love the fabric you chose. It’s so gorgeous! I am glad you like this pattern as much as I do. I think you should have trusted your instincts, but at least you know now. I skipped the FBA on my first one, but I totally needed it. Can’t wait to see more of this pattern!

Leave a Reply

