Hollyburn Skirt

Image

So focused, I forgot to smile. This is the theme in most of my pics for this post

Image

Still no smiling! I didn’t realize the waist band had folder over in these pics. oopsy!

Here is my version of Sewaholics Hollyburn skirt. I had no idea why I took my sweet time with this skirt, but I just could not sit down and finish it. The instructions are very easy, it’s a nice straight forward pattern, excellent instructions, and there are many online tutorials for adding lining to this pattern.

IMG_1232

Short bodied

IMG_1234

Short bodied evidence

I think part of it was that this is not my typical style skirt and I was having a hard time liking the cut while trying it on during the construction process. This is a very full skirt, I love the way it looks on others online but I am not used to seeing myself in this shape.

Making this skirt made me realize a couple of things about the shape of my body that I should consider when selecting pattern so my expectations of how I will look in the finished product are more accurate. First, I carry most of my hip measurement in the rear – so my booty is the main part of my hip girth. Apparently this makes my hips look wider in a fuller skirt. I also realized just how short bodied I am. The high waist of this skirt really put into perspective how close my natural waist is to my bust. I should consider this for adjustments but also for imagining what to wear with higher waisted skirts and pants (lol like I am going to make pants anytime soon! pffff!). These are certainly not complaints about my body, just observations I have not considered when I am looking to make new garments.

IMG_1243

I am doing an awesome bathroom selfie, I am trying to show just how full in the hips the skirt is without my hands and arms in the way.

IMG_1226

I made this skirt out of a mystery cotton (maybe) blend from my Paris shopping trip, and lined it with bemberg rayon. The mystery fabric was so light that I had to tack it to the lining which took away from some of the hip width. The mystery fabric was super cheap in all senses of the word so maybe I should consider this a wearable muslin. Next time I make this pattern, I am going to grade down a size or two and the hips, and use better fabric.

I want to learn to love this skirt. I love it on everyone else in the sewing blogosphere, thankfully there are so many who have posted cute outfits with their Hollyburn skirts. Yay internet!! I was looking for something to wear with this skirt and I found a coral top with bows around the neckline that I completely forgot I owned. Why haven’t I been wearing it, it’s so cute.

IMG_1236 IMG_1242

14 thoughts on “Hollyburn Skirt

  1. I love this skirt! I’ve thought about this pattern, but I haven’t committed to the idea to it yet. I love this on you and it defines your waist! Like the others have said, there’s no fullness. The fact that it’s fitted at the waist and flares out accentuates your small waist even more. Before I started sewing, I was all about fitted skirts, but after sewing I realize that fuller skirts works wonders. I hope to see more versions of this. šŸ™‚

  2. This looks stunning on you! I especially love the waistband and totally agree with everyone else. It accentuates your gorgeous waist and creates a beautiful silhouette. Go you! xoxo

  3. Your skirt looks great! I agree with everyone else that the silhouette makes your waist look tiny and it doesn’t look too full in the hips. You are doing a great job for having only been sewing for a little while!

Leave a Reply

