Colette Truffle dress

Image

I saw this fabric twice in the same store and for some reason I passed it over the first time, no idea why because I loved the print and it was like $6/metre, cotton and 4% spandex and a heavier weight. Thankfully I came to my senses and bought some, knowing I would have to find a pattern with simple lines and little details as they would get lost otherwise. Perfect for the Truffle dress from Colette.

This pattern is super easy to sew, even though I made the wrong size. Again. I made the size 4 and thought it would be the perfect fit, I have no idea why I thought I had a 36 inch bust all of a sudden. Maybe this was wishful thinking, like the implant fairy visited me in my sleep right before I bought the Colette Sewing Handbook. So I was a little delusional about an extra 2.5 inches on my bust, but I also thought that the 28 inch waist would be the perfect amount of ease. Maybe it would have been, however somehow, even though I used a 1 inch seam allowance on the bodice to make up for the bust issue, I ended up with a 29 inch finished waist measurement, leaving 2 inches of ease. (ummm…what?). I might have to adjust it again, I wore it to work to see how it would settle. You can see in the picks it’s nowhere near as fitted as it could be.

truffle2    image truffle3

I learned how to line a dress properly, plus I made the lining for the entire dress not just the bodice and the pattern recommends. Bemberg rayon lining makes a dress super dreamy to wear, not to mention that it looks fantastic. Now I must line everything I make! Ok, not everything, but dresses and skirts definitely. Because I once again refused to make a muslin (too impatient) the baggy back was dealt with by adjusting the shoulders. Because I had already lined it and had not tried it on, and did not want to undo the beautiful lining, I folded the back of the shoulder over the front and added buttons to give the illusion that this was intentional. I think it works. Actually I am pretty proud of the dress, despite the size. But is is a super comfy dress, and I do love the fabric.

I definitely want to make this dress again, the silhouette is pretty and there are so many possibilities for fabric types. Next time I will make it at least one, if not two sizes smaller.

As you can see Smiley was very interested in my dress, he came in for a few close ups. I think he really likes the dress .

13 thoughts on “Colette Truffle dress

  1. I love this Truffle and your fabric is amazing! I think it’s a great basic pattern. I loved the skirt ruffle, but it looks great without the ruffle as well. 🙂 I don’t know what’s wrong with the back, but I have the same issue too. I read somewhere that it’s supposed to sit wider on your shoulders, not true. It still loose after I tried to put it wider on the shoulders, no it’s still roomy in the back. The sizing for the Truffle, is a bit funny. I too made a 4, but I don’t like how loose it was under my bust. My previous one, I think I made a 2 with FBA, I like the fit of it better.

    I don’t like making muslins either. It’s a shame, but I can’t help it. When I make muslins, everything looks fine because I don’t sew the zipper or buttons in it. When I make it out of the fashion fabric, I realized that I need to make more adjustments. Now, I just make “wearable” muslins. If it works out, great. If not, at least I didn’t spend so much on it. I’m glad I found a fellow seamstress that dislikes muslins as much as I do! 😛

    • Thank you, I love the fabric too! Sometimes I wonder if my fabric choices are too crazy or busy, then I think who cares? The fabric I think it too thick for the ruffle and I don’t think it would be noticeable with the crazy print so I left it out.

      I am starting to think more about the wearable muslins, I usually pick out inexpensive fabrics anyway, I might as well start with those. Muslins just seem like precious sewing time spent on something you can’t wear which gets in the way for the need for instant gratification.

  2. Ooooh, I love this dress! The fabric was a terrific choice and I must look into that style. I don’t have that pattern, but it looks like something I would wear and be flattering. And, congrats on fully lining the dress! I have not yet done that, only lined skirts or capes and underlined a dress.

  3. I love this print for the truffle, not too crazy at all, I totally would have picked this up if I saw it in a fabric shop! 🙂 Even though you think it’s a little too big it’s not noticeable, I think it looks great 🙂

  4. Very pretty and the buttons at the shoulder do look intentional! Ugh, muslins are so boring to make but I’ve been forcing myself to make them recently and although time consuming they have helped me a lot.

  5. hehe this is a very pretty dress. Don’t worry I think we all have the same issues when it comes to fitting. I always make my lining first in the pattern and see how it fits and if its too big or small I change it and then cut out the pretty (more expensive) fabric. It’s especially hard when different patterns have different sizings. Then when you lose weight which should be a good thing its even more stressful haha. You did a beautiful job though and the fabric is really great I agree. Can’t wait to see your next version 🙂 P.S I am finding lots of great patterns on your blog! xx

Leave a Reply

