Simplicity 2451

I am not in these pics for 2 reasons, the first being that no one is here at the moment to take the picture, and second it doesn’t fit. I appreciate other bloggers who post pictures of themselves wearing what they have made so you can see how it drapes and moves on a person. So apologies, the next post will have me wearing the latest project!

Image

The skirt is at least one size, if not two, too large. I know, I know, I should know better as most of the Big Four usually make their patterns too large. I did read the finished measurements on the hips, of course there was no mention of the final waist measurement, and it still turned out too big. Live and learn I guess.

Anyway, the skirt itself is nice and was pretty easy to make, just not the right size. I used a dark grey pin striped stretch denim that I have had in my stash from when I first started sewing. I love that there are pockets, which are a part of the design aesthetic and not hidden. The only negative about them is they are a bit shallow. I think if I make this pattern again I will add an inch or two in the pocket depth. I used a dark grey pinstripe stretch denim that I have had for a long time and the instructions were fairly straight forward. The zipper had a few issues going in, but at that point I knew the sizing was off andI just wanted to finish the project so I could start a new one. This is the first time I have sewn pleats, so that gets added to skills learned.

Image

Image

If I can’t find a taker for this skirt, at least Smiley likes it. It’s not his style but he has found at least a use for it.

Image

One thought on “Simplicity 2451

  1. Pingback: Basically it’s a basic… Simplicity 2451 take two! | See Kat Sew (...or try to)

Leave a Reply

